How does the unsubscribe function operate in a workflow?

A contact cannot unsubscribe from a workflow. If a contact receives a message that you set up in a workflow and they click the unsubscribe link contained in that message, they will be presented with the standard unsubscribe page. Workflows are not associated with a particular campaign (called a “contact list” in the new GetResponse).  However, contacts will still be a part of the campaign (list) they subscribed to and would be removed from it by unsubscribing from a message sent from a workflow.

If you’d like to remove contacts from a campaign (list), autoresponder cycle, or a workflow, you need to use the Remove contact action.