What is the difference between unsubscribing and blacklisting?

Unsubscribing and blacklisting are good list hygiene practices. On the List hygiene page, you’ll find two actions—unsubscribe and blacklist:

  • Unsubscribe gives you the ability to remove an email address from a specific list or lists.
  • Blacklist allows you to prevent specific email addresses and domains from subscribing to your current or future list or lists. It also gives you the ability to prevent people from resubscribing.

These actions will help you keep your contact list fresh and improve subscriber engagement. The more focused your list is, the better your click-through and open rates become.

When to blacklist and when to unsubscribe?

You can accomplish different goals, depending on whether you choose to remove emails from all or specific lists, or to create blacklist rules. You can use the table below as a set of guidelines when deciding which action is best for you.

If you want to:

  • remove contacts from your account, use unsubscribe from all lists (this will remove them from your account) or specific lists
  • prevent email addresses from adding to your current or future lists, blacklist them from your account
  • prevent people from adding to a specific list or lists in your account, blacklist them from a list or lists
  • prevent from contacts from adding to any list you create in the future, blacklist them from the entire account
  • remove duplicates from specific lists, unsubscribe them from those lists
  • prevent contacts in your account from receiving any of your messages, add them to a blacklist